The Voices of Writing Tutors

As a writing tutor, I have greatly enjoyed the opportunities that working in the writing studio has provided me with. I have had a chance to work on my pedagogy and get involved on campus, but more importantly for me, I have had the chance to help others with their writing and confidence. Since being a tutor has played such a strong role in my graduate identity, I was interested in searching through the DALN for narratives from others who have had experience tutoring.

In her literacy narrative, Catherine Dorian discusses how being a writing tutor has helped her to identify as a writer and has allowed her to inspire others to write. Erin Cahilll talks about her experiences working in the writing center as an undergraduate student. While at times she felt intimidated working with students who were “already above [her] in so many other different academic levels,” she’s grateful for her time in the writing center and how it will help prepare her for becoming “a real writing teacher.”

Kaitlin worked as a writing tutor for one semester, but never felt comfortable with the advice she gave or conversations she had with the students she worked with. She avoided working with students throughout the semester in fear of “ruin[ing] someone else’s writing.” While her discomfort could have stemmed from a lack of tutor training, I believe the feelings that she had working as a tutor are valid and pretty common among new tutors.

 

photo credit: Leon Fishman

