Literacy as a Gateway to Imagination

While exploring the DALN, I found some great narratives from Lindsey Nguyen and Jaames Addams where they discuss how reading fantasy and science fiction books helped foster their imaginations.

In her narrative, Lindsey Nguyen discloses her feelings towards books, which mirrors the same notion that all the book lovers who I have ever known (including myself) feel: books have the power to “transport you to different worlds and places.” She also explains how reading has led her to write creatively and allows her to bring together different media. Lindsey’s very entertaining and engaging video also includes skits of her and her friend acting out scenes from her favorite books! Similarly, Jaames Addams discusses how reading science fiction books led him to embrace emerging media and “showed the world the way it could be, rather than the way it is.”
For both authors, reading these genres not only provided them with a gateway to imagination, but also sparked their interest in other media and literacies. Watching and reading these narratives reminded me of why I fell in love with reading to begin with. Check them out and see what you think! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

 

photo credit: Juliana Coutinho

